Friday, March 7, 2014

Denmark - Cliché Love Song - Basim

digital release image 
9 - 74 pts / not in semi
Basim (Anis Basim Moujahidwon the Danish Melodi Grand Prix with Cliché Love Song and represented the host country in Copenhagen.
The song is written by Lasse Lindorff, Kim Nowak-Zorde, Daniel Fält and Basim.
Here's the live performance (DR's YT)

After being noticed in Danish X-Factor 2008, Basim has released two albums when he was 15 / 16 years young. Alt Det Jeg Ville Have Sagt (All I would have said) in 2008 and Befri Dig Selv (Free yourself) in 2009.
His most recent release is a digital EP titled '5' from 2013.
He scored four minor hits in Denmark, the biggest being Lad Ikke Solen Gå Ned (Don't let the sun go down), a duet with Lis Sørensen which reached No. 15 in the Danish top 40.
Cliché Love Song is Basims first release sung in English.

Basim is using a bit of the F-word in the original version. EBU rules require a new version for the contest and the F word is replaced by the Another.
An acoustic version has also been recorded (release date 28-4)

Cliché Love Song - clean version
- on the official Copenhagen 2CD
Cliché Love Song - original
- on DMGP 2014 CD
Cliché Love Song - acoustic
- digital release
Cliché Love Song - Another version*
- digital release
Cliché Love Song - Rothmann remix
- digital release
Cliché Love Song - karaoke
- on the official karaoke collection, digital release
Cliché Love Song - instrumental
- on DMGP 2014 CD 
Of course all versions have (also) been released digitally.
No cdsingle or promo disc has been issued.
* This remix is actually named "Another version" 

Danish tracklisten top 40: 2, 2, 5, 7, 13, 10, 9, 9, 10, 3, 7, 20, 30
Spain top 50: 50, -
Ireland top 100: 38, -
Netherlands sales top 100: 71, -
Sweden top 60: 19, 9, 16, 30, 41
Sweden Digilistan top 60 (Digital sales charts): 8, 11, 11, 17, 27, 51
U.K. top 100: 46, -
Germany top 100: 50, -
Switzerland top 75: 55, -
Austria top 75: 37, -


The CD with all entries to this years Danish selection, Dansk Melodi Grand Prix is out now. All 10 songs are also included in their karaoke versions. (Sony)
The karaoke version of Basims Eurovision song is actually instrumental.

Tracklist DMGP 2014
01 Sonny - Feeling the You
02 Anna David - It Hurts
03 Basim - Cliche Love Song
04 Rebekka Thornbech - Your Lies
05 Glamboy P - Right by Your Side
06 Bryan Rice - I Choose U
07 Nadia Malm - Before You Forget Me
08 Michael Rune Feat. Natascha Bessez - Wanna Be Loved
09 Emilie Moldow - Vi Finder Hjem
10 Danni Elmo - She's the One

plus all versions in karaoke/instrumental

More Denmark
Of course we all know Denmark won the 2013 contest with Only Teardrops by Emmelie De Forest. But the Danish course of radio friendly pop tunes has paid off nicely in recent years. Denmark have made it to the final the past 6 years.
Soluna Samay(2012)  finished only 23rd, but A Friend In London (5th in 2011) and Chaneé and N'evergreen (4th in 2010) made top 5
Niels Brinck got a little help from Ronan Keating in 2009 and ended at no. 13.

Links and sources
Basim FB and website
DR Melodi Grand Prix pages
Thanks to Nissim 2901 (see comments)

1 comment:

  1. In DMGP album" Karaoke" it's Instrumenta version (I have official DMGP album) & in Karaoke Official Album of EBU it's real karaoke version.